Mustang Forum - Mustang World

Mustang Grilles, Mustang Windshield banners, Mustang Bumper inserts and more at MW Speedshop.com

Go Back   Mustang Forum - Mustang World > Technical Discussion > 2005+ Mustang

Old 08-02-2011, 07:09 PM   #1
MonteCitan
Partying like it's 19-99

Moaning sound from rear diff/LSD

Evening all.. I vaguely remember this issue from when I was a Ford Tech.. My car's been doing this since I picked it up, it doesn't bug me too much seeing as I'll eventually be upgrading everything anyhow, but does anyone have a copy of the TSB for this?

2006 mustang - noise from differential/LSD - can be confused with Power Steering pump noise..

Also anyone local to So Cal that works at a Ford dealer that wants to hook a brother up with the repair? Car is well within the mileage warranty but out on time
Old 08-02-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
MonteCitan
Partying like it's 19-99

That or is it just time to change out the diff fluid/ add in some more friction modifier?
Old 08-10-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
2kanchoo
Dumb Fvck Canuck

How loud is it? I'd get the dealership or a really good mechanic to take a look. I had this a couple months back on my 2006 gt. It was REALLY loud. I assumed it was tire noise as the kdw II's have a reputation, but it kept getting louder. I finally put the car on stands and ran it through a few gears. Nope not tires. It ended up being pretty much everything in the rear end needed changing. So I got all new internals, upgraded to carbon fiber clutch packs, and a terminator center section. Also replaced the wheel bearings. (not a cheap job, so I'd get it checked out)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kanchoo
Yes jcalvert86, you posted a great picture of your girls bangin, tlts and then went on to say her approximate height and weight. Beanbat disagreed with your guess on the weight. Therefore you are a serial liar and degenerate human being.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS6 Molester